Friends System

Aug 16, 2016
Friends System

  • Release and Development(top)


    The Friends System Update was released on October 15, 2015. This feature was said to have been developed 99% on Aikar's live streams. The development of the feature can be watched through replays of the streams here.

    Features(top)


    Adding someone as a friend allows a player to see cross-server login notifications. When a player joins a server, that player's friends will be able to see which server they've just connected to. This excludes quick rejoins. You can also see all your currently online friends by using the /friends online command.

    Friends will have a blue symbol next to their name in Chat, letting you know they're your friend. This will appear in all Chat channels, including private messages. This feature is only available to supporters.

    If you die in the waste or wilderness and drop all your items then those will be protected from picking up for 8 minutes, this allows you to retrieve them. However, all your added friends will also be able to pick up those items during those first 8 minutes.

    The Friends System is integrated with the Anti-Griefing System, in that friends can be granted block-breaking permissions and/or the ability to pass these permissions onto others. For more information, see the prior link and the Commands: Anti-Griefing System page.

    More features for the friend system are planned. The October 15th release introduced just the foundation of the friend system.

    Integration with Player Settings(top)


    A few features of the friends system have settings associated with them, located in the Friends section of the Player Settings function. Anti-Grief settings are also integrated with friends.
    • Notify Friends on Login - Toggles whether your friends will be notified when you log onto the servers
    • Allow Friend Invites - Allows players to choose if they can receive friend invites.
    • Allow Friends - Controls whether or not friends can break your protected blocks by default. This can be overridden on a per-player basis.
    • Allow Friends to Vouch - Controls if friends can 'vouch' on behalf of others when you're offline, allowing them to break your blocks.

    Commands(top)


    See the Commands: Friends page to view a list of Commands relevant to the Friends System.

    EMC has many features to take advantage of that revolve around certain aspects of multiplayer Minecraft.

Looking for a more general Minecraft guide? Visit Minecraftopia!