I have a question

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by TheFryedmans, Jun 6, 2018.

1. Emm i just was on work experience and I learnt that for the UK and EU a new law was passed called GDPR and came into affect on the 25th of May (not long ago) saying that the bissness needs our consent to hold personal data (like email and contact information) dose this apply To the owners of EMC that this is an American business ish
  2. I am not an expert on any form of laws, but I think this is the case:
    As far as I know, EMC does not have to follow the EU law, but Aikar has said that the only data emc has activly collected of you is your e-mail adress, which you write down yourself in the register forums and so do argree on to share. This means EMC does follow the law, even though they don't have to.
    Everything you write here, of course, is also shared as it is a forum which everyone can visit, but that has nothing to do with the law.
  3. Except that after two years of inactivity (if I recall correctly), they'll need to remove the e-mail address also. And according to some, even name and profile picture, but I think that's more than the law actually prescribes (I haven't read the original law, only what other people have done and said in reaction to it).
  4. yeah... that was a thing too... I had forgotten, but, he does only seem to ask about if "the bissness needs our consent to hold personal data", which what you say doesn't matter to :p
    also, I must actually start reading those things again, my knowlege is far from up-to-date lately.
    607 likes this.
  5. Yea ok just wondered as I was at work experience
  6. I know this hasn't been bumped since Wednesday but I thought I'd add to the discussion.