My fight against depression

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous' started by Impaxis, Mar 2, 2020.

1. Howdy!

Some people might know me.
    My old name was Raiin, but I changed it to Varua.
    I hope I am posting this in the right thread!

I almost never share anything about me, not in-game and also not in real life.
    Especially when it has to do with my depression.
    But somehow I feel the need to tell about my depression.
    Maybe just to clear my mind, I am not sure.

I've been fighting against that ugly enemy now for around 9 years.
    It started when I was around 16 years old, do the maths and you know my age ;).

I've been in therapy now for 6-7 years, did it help me?
    Yes, it definitly did.
    But even after 6-7 years of therapy, I am still having more bad days then good days.

Since I am still not where I wanna be with my depression, I decided around 6-8 weeks ago to sign up for group therapy.
    I keep fighting against depression, cause I know I will defeat it someday.

Why I am typing this today?
    Well, its one of those bad days today.
    And I wanted to type away my thoughts.
    Put it on a paper, and write it all away.
    But why should I keep it for myself, if I maybe can help others with it?

A few years ago I was ashamed that I was fighting against depression.

"Depression? No, I cant talk about that. Otherwise people gonna think I am looking for attention, people gonna judge me on it.
    I dont want their pity."

All that kind of thoughts have been going on and on for years, and I still have them sometimes.
    But that is exactly the reason why I am trying to open up more about it.

My biggest "problem"?
    I have been in survival mode for such a long time, that I became very good at switching off my feelings and my emotions.
    It feels sometimes like I am numb.

Ah man, even while typing this I have my doubts if I should post this.

"This story doesn't make sense."
    "Why should I post this?"