I keep getting malware notices on EMC site :(

Discussion in 'Empire Help & Support' started by WayneKramer, Dec 18, 2014.

  1. I think you might have malware on your PC triggering false alerts, because the Google database does not match those results:


    What is the current listing status for empireminecraft.com?

    This site is not currently listed as suspicious.
    What happened when Google visited this site?
    Of the 46 pages we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 0 page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent. The last time Google visited this site was on 2014-12-17, and suspicious content was never found on this site within the past 90 days.
    This site was hosted on 5 network(s) including AS13335 (CLOUDFLARENET), AS16276 (OVH), AS29802 (HVC-AS).
    Has this site acted as an intermediary resulting in further distribution of malware?

    Over the past 90 days, empireminecraft.com did not appear to function as an intermediary for the infection of any sites.
    Has this site hosted malware?

    No, this site has not hosted malicious software over the past 90 days.
    sambish20 likes this.
  2. While I would really question Google's sanity to allow advertisements in their own system thats within their own malware database, I added the website listed to the blacklist for our ads to be safe.
    ZBSDKryten, wkramer79, Pab10S and 2 others like this.
  3. Where exactly do you get this message? Because as you can see by the URL (yolayouts.com) the site itself isn't associated with EMC. At least not that I know off.

    So my guess is that you're entering a page which contains linked contents. And that can indeed cause issues because I can confirm that the domain 'yolayouts.com' is indeed placed on some alert lists. Merely searching google for yolayouts will get you a link to this website together with a warning (at the time of writing obviously).

    No idea where its coming from though. When checking the site out with Seamonkey (the browser which I normally use; mostly because it supports plugins such as NoScript and Adblock plus) I see nothing out of the ordinary (for example javascript code which originates from "weird" places) nor do I get any warnings.

    My guess is that this is merely temporarily.
  4. I haven't ever actually loaded up yolayouts.com but I get that same malware notice whenever I go directly to that site too since I just tried it.

    So you're thinking there was a Google Chrome ad in the browser that was referencing yolayouts.com and that is causing it?

    EDIT: I've stopped seeing it come up since you blocked the ad. Not sure which ad it was that was doing it but glad it stopped now. If it happens again I'll post which page it was on where it was happening.
  5. run malwarebytes
  6. IT's huckleberrys signature image. It's perfectly safe in that it won't give you a virus, but because hes linking to an image on a domain google is blocking, its triggering the warning here.

    Oddly, I don't get it when visiting EMC itself, only when I tried to go to that image directly.
  7. I removed the image causing it.
    wkramer79 likes this.
  8. I was reading this thread half asleep and then I saw my name and got such a fright!
    Edit: Wait, so I'm not allowed it as my signature?
  9. You'll need to host the image elsewhere, as the yolayouts site you linked it on is the one triggering the alert.

    upload it to imgur and then you can put it back.
    wkramer79 and huckleberry24 like this.
  10. omg huckleberry24 is always causing a ruckus around here!! :p
  11. Did you see what happened to Sony after they made a movie about Kim Jong-Un?!
  12. *specifically, about assassinating Kim Jong-Un*

    I doubt it was North Korea hacking their systems and releasing their stuff. Yeah, they took credit for it, but just remember what North Korea are like... :p
    I think the worst thing about that whole thing is that the movie got postponed :p
  13. No, they didn't take credit for it :p So it probably was them.
  14. Precisely why I posted that.