how to deal with a minecraft update?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Fred_TWK, Jun 2, 2021.

1. please bear with me, I started playing Minecraft this year :oops:

- should I wait to update my client?
    - if yes, what should I wait for? that all the mods (and fabric) I use have been updated? that the server has been updated?
    - if not, how does it work with the server? will a 1.17 client be able to play here while we still are on 1.16? or do I have to do something specific?

and in terms of server update
    - is it announced in advance?
    - how does it work? is it performed at an announced time, or is it a "surprise reboot" at a non-specified time of day?
    607 likes this.
  2. I'll tell you what I usually do :)

I personally use MultiMC, but everything should work the same for the vanilla launcher.
    Both for MultiMC and for the vanilla launcher, you can have multiple installations of minecraft on multiple versions. The last time I used the vanilla launcher, which was in 1.10, you could have multiple installations with different mods by adding maps in the "mods" map of your .minecraft folder, naming them to the version the mods were for. So, I had a "1.9" folder, in which all the mods for the 1.9 client were located, and a "1.10" folder, in which all the mods for 1.10 were located, both of which were inside the "mods" folder in .minecraft. It might no longer work this way, check google :p

Having said that, this is what I usually do:
    -When an update comes out, or, usually, once the pre-releases are stable, I add a vanilla client for the new version. This is for doing redstone (when I'm unsure if something still works in the new version) and for building (too see which colours will be available.) 1.13 was so unstable at release that I waited for a later update with doing this, but 1.17 should be fine :)