Question: Would this affect server tps?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by FierendenMDS, Apr 28, 2023.

1. So I'm pretty new to server MC, but I've been reading a lot about lag and common techniques to reduce it. That said, I'm starting to sketch out in creative something I would love to build on EMC, but it involves a lot of hoppers and chests, which I know can add up. So looking for advice on whether this would be OK to build on an EMC Utopia res.

Without going into too many details, it would be a storage system to start, but I'd eventually like to turn it into a mall. It's basically your typical 1-wide tileable hopper pipe item sorter, but for a lot of items and with extra chests for storage. I'm still new to some of these mods, but Litematica is telling me 6k hoppers (most of those pulling from a double chest) and carpet tick warp is telling me about 2-3 mspt (when sorting) on my modest machine.

So help calibrate my expectations of EMC server capacity. Is this a crazy build or something OK to move forward with?

Thanks in advance for the advice!
  2. 6,000 hoppers would definitely make a noticeable amount of TPS lag occur. Why not try experimenting with minecarts to offset the number of hoppers you need in the end result? I know there's a number of sorting systems that exist that utilize both and are more efficient than relying solely on hoppers alone. :)
    We3_MPO likes this.
  3. I'd be interested to see a more lag friendly item sorter based on minecarts. I haven't managed to find one yet. I've seen plenty of examples for collecting or distributing items, but the only ones I've seen for sorting are going for speed and look worse for server lag to me. If you can point me in the direction of one, I's appreciate it.