A tribute to EMC with a somewhat lengthy intro...

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Leowaste, Mar 1, 2012.

1. 3 months ago I became a proud member of Empire MineCraft.
    How?

2 months before I ran into a youtube video about minecraft. I found it interesting. I went to the website, I checked out the options. I then decided that I didn’t want to pay $25 for a game I didn’t know anything about. Oh how I was young….

So I started playing for free with the web browser, quickly finding out about WoM to get the full screen option….I was hooked.

I wondered from server to server on MineCraft classic. Finding nothing but power hungry admins/mods and poorly organized worlds. Grief ran wild, communities lacked respect….I was let down.

So I created. I created a server of my own hosted on a dedicated server using the latest server software I could find. Massive worlds, great builds, respectable mods, the whole nine yards….I was happy.

Then boredom set in. I had the ability to make anything I wanted, however I wanted it. No work was required to gather any resources. Pure. Creative. Building. So I made the purchase. My journey started over. Wandering from server to server, loading into places that offered no information, no help and terrible communities.

I knew that I could make my own server, so I did. Downloaded the latest software I could find, and ran a test. In less than 30 minutes of having my own MC server I realized…this was way above my head. Sure I know simple coding. And I can usually figure any piece of software out on my own. But with my lack of skill would come nothing but another un-organized, anarchy style server with only a large ban list to help it. Not to mention, the $100 a month I spent on a server for MC classic, gave me 1/4th the power I needed for the real deal…