[Suggestion] A way to obtain (pacified) neutral and hostile mobs for Town Residences

Discussion in 'Suggestion Box Archives' started by Paranoid_Android, Jan 13, 2018.

1. While looking through the already suggested ideas I saw that being able to eggify hostile mobs was already denied. While this might imply no hostile or neutral mobs in town, I didn't see this explicitly stated, so I thought it wouldn't hurt to try and suggest this.

As a builder, I see the potential that mobs have in adding atmosphere to various creations, as well as ways they can spice up the life of a residence. To give some simple examples, a spooky build could have undead mobs wandering about, a cave could have a bunch of spiders crawling around, or maybe shops could have specialized stalls being watched over by enderman or witches. Besides general atmosphere, many of these mobs could also make great "pets" or displays. How about an adorable little slime hanging around your house? Or silverfish in a detailed terrarium? Or maybe guardians chilling in an aquarium?

The normally hostile mobs would of course be nonaggressive within town.

As an alternative to egging I thought it might be possible to have promos that could summon them, similarly to snow golems. The downside is that there are a lot of neutral and hostile mobs that could potentially be added, and this would be a rather slow means of obtaining them. On the other hand this would allow staff to more slowly consider what mobs to add to town.

I have the suspicion that there are issues to this suggestion existing behind the scenes, either with code or EMC preferences. As a result my idea is almost more of an inquiry as to whether we will ever be allowed to have neutral and hostile mobs on our residences in the future. I won't be too surprised if this gets denied, but the build potential here made me have to ask.
    Gawadrolt likes this.