DSLR Cameras-What is best?

Discussion in 'Shutter Talk' started by TechNinja_42, Nov 1, 2014.

?

Which camera brand is best in your opinion?

Nikon 1 vote(s) 20.0%
Canon 4 vote(s) 80.0%
Olympus 0 vote(s) 0.0%
  1. I'm thinking about getting a DSLR camera, and I don't know much about them. I am new to photography so some sort of higher-end entry level DSLR is what I am looking for so I can continue to use it when I become more knowledgeable about cameras. I have been doing a lot of research and I like the Canon EOS Rebel T5i.

Some things I am looking for on a camera are:
    -Decent Slo-Mo
    -Good HDR
    -Something good for nature photos
    -Decent Low Light Photos
    -Manual Zoom/Focus
    -Flash

Post below what camera you think would be good for a beginner like me, and some features that make it unique. You may see a new photography thread soon if this is successful ;P Thanks for the help guys, I really appreciate it!

EDIT: I am trying to decide between the T5i and T3i
    I would rather have the T5i but it is very expensive
    The t3i is said to have better images and color depth
    any advice about these two cameras would be great!
    Thanks!
  2. Well I haven't messed with many but I REALLY enjoy my Nikon D3200

Edit: Here are some pictures I took with it:
    http://brandonrsteer.deviantart.com/gallery/
    Those are kinda old and before I knew how to actually work the camera so even without much effort it takes decent photos.
  3. I have found some good deals on the Rebel t5i and I think I may purchase it. I was told to not get Nikon, but canon and nikon appear to be fairly equal to me.
  4. Why did they tell you to not get Nikon?