[Guide] Pixel Art for Beginners

Discussion in 'Artists' Gallery' started by Jay2a, Jul 9, 2015.

1. Recently, I've been noticing an increasing popularity in pixel art on EMC. Although people are taking an interest, their ways of getting or making their own sprites are less than professional. Today, I will be talking about how you can draw your own sprites, and possibly have them look better, more professional, or even less overdone.
    One note before the guide begins: I'm not a professional and my work is not the best. Though, I do know a lot about spriting from more experienced people.

Part 1 - Programs/Getting started
    A very important part of spriting is the program that you use. Although certain programs may be more familiar, there are some that will be better than others.
    In the spoiler, I've listed some pros and cons of different more popular programs.

GIMP
    -Free
    -Doesn't strain the computer
    -Mostly designed for image editing and painting, but can do Pixel Art just fine
    -Very user unfriendly

Paint.Net
    -Easy to use
    -Free
    -Doesn't strain the computer
    -Supports transparency and layers
    -Very simple - Lacks advanced image editing features (However it can be extended with plugins)

Photoshop
    -Very powerful and can do other things
    -Has the most tutorials, plugins and all
    -Forcing it to do Pixel Art can get frustrating
    -Expensive
    -The interface is rather complicated

MS Paint
    -It comes with Microsoft Windows
    -Requires no setting up to start spriting
    -Not very hard to figure out
    -No transparency
    -No layers
    -No (proper) resizing
    -No advanced features of any kind
    These were just the more popular programs. If you have a different one that works for you, feel free to stick with that.