A work In Progress Log Of a Song I am working on :)

Discussion in 'Share Your EMC Creations' started by iSmooch, Dec 22, 2012.

1. So, I was working on some music today. And I thought I would upload my progress as I made sound tests. Which is where I export the song to see how it is sounding on other devices (because I care so much that people that are not using the same equipment/headphones/speakers as me get the same feel I do while making it). I have never done this before, aside from some collaboration work with TonicThunder, I very rarely upload anything I do not have finished. So While doing this I thought it would be cool to post a sort of Log here for you guys. Because the majority of my SoundCloud followers (majority=all) are EMC members. So to pay back the respect, I will deliver :).

Step 1 - The idea.

Sadly, this is the only part I could not really upload. As it is not really anything outside of my head at this point. This particiular Song was actually a joke, from something JackBiggin Said in chat on SMP9 once. About dropping his phone in cake batter or something. And I said, 'Cake Phone would be a cool title for a song'. So yet even another step out of line, I rarely enter a piece with the name already decided. So it was more of getting me in the mood to make a song then just throwing that name on it. I guess you could say an extended ringtone on a 'Cake Phone' could sound like this.

After that point, I just sat around for a day humming things to myself, until I thought of something good. When I finally had a sequence of sounds I enjoyed, I went over to my piano and played the individual keys until I was happy with a basic 'Melody'. Then, I started to place the respective keys into their fitting chords and harmonies that would sound well. Mainly for reference for accompaniment I might have.

Step 2 - Basic Layout