[Suggestion] Purchable perks for those who 'did' something...

Discussion in 'Suggestion Box Archives' started by ShelLuser, Apr 10, 2017.

1. Hi gang!

A vague title, I know. Credit goes to Merek_Shadower for putting the idea in my head, this suggestion is based on an idea he shared in town chat. On SMP2, where the cool stuff usually happens :cool: (hey now: silence can be cool too! :D).

As a player you play along on the Empire and you might reach a point where you'd like something new, different, a new motivation. Easier said than done, the developers can only do so much.

As a developer I can imagine that your primary goal is to keep gameplay and game balance in mind. You want to give the players cool stuff to motivate them, but you also don't want to overdo it so things don't get too overpowered. Example: voter tools can be considered OP'ish because they can seriously affect your mining. Of course.. you "only" need to spend 255 days of continues voting before you'll get your hands on one of these (or buy one of course).

So Merek hinted at something which has been suggested before: giving players access to the Soulbound enchant when they have a lot of money.

That got me thinking....

My suggestion

Give long-termed players access to acquire goodies. So don't give them rewards for doing something, provide an option to get those.

Example: Allow players to purchase a soulbound enchanted book (= puts 'soulbound' on item of choice) for 1 million rupees, however it's only purchasable for players who have a 600+ voting streak. And only 1 per player.

So no automatic reward, simply an option to get something if you meet the requirements. But there's still work to be done.

Now, I'm using Merek's idea of soulbound but obviously this could be used for just about everything.

My suggestion involves around the idea of not merely providing rewards for having a voting streak. but using said streak to open up new challenges.