NaNoWriMo 2016...

Discussion in 'Writers' Corner' started by lauwenmark, Oct 31, 2016.

1. ... Starts tomorrow. For those who don't know what it is, it is a writing challenge: one has to write a 50,000 words novel in a single month, between 1st and 30th November.

clicky link !

I'll attempt it this year. Will any of you do? What will you write for it?
    Kephras and 607 like this.
  2. I'm doing this! Currently in a mad scramble to finish my outline. :confused: This is my first time, and I'm excited. I'm writing about genetically engineered dragons who escape from a lab. The scientists who created them have to try and keep them from escaping to the nearest city.
    lauwenmark and Kephras like this.
  3. Oh, yeah! I heard about this before! Good luck, and have fun! :) Be sure to keep committed throughout the month, and not do it for two days, then skip three weeks and then start writing frantically.
    lauwenmark, Kephras and TomvanWijnen like this.
  4. I have no ideas. :( My pen has been wordless for a couple months, even my actual novel has stalled out (and that was topping 62k words). I desperately need something to spark some inspiration.
    lauwenmark and 607 like this.
  5. Time to unexpectedly kill an important character. ;) A fun choice when everything is too comfortable. (Hopefully GoT will not make the technique commonplace.)
    lauwenmark likes this.
  6. I try this thing every few years - I think the most I did in one month was around 20k words and no where near a finished product.

Quoted you Keph because if you want you can bounce (or pounce as it were) ideas off me if you want - my inbox is open. I'm particularly good with Sci-Fi and Fantasy ;)
    lauwenmark likes this.
  7. My main cast is way too small for that. Where I'm at now, killing anyone off "unexpectedly" would leave a gaping hole in the story. GoT this is not.

Pfft, where were you months ago when I was asking for help?